You know how in mystery novels or maybe even dramatic-thriller type movies, there's that often repeated line of "things aren't always as they seem"? Of course, that isn't the only variation that's used, but I think it's been done quite a lot throughout the years. That's honestly how I feel about the internet sometimes. I am not writing anything new, as we all know that most people share only their curated "highlight reel" on social media. I know that I myself tend to do this, and I think it's really only natural. That said, I think it can be really easy to look past that knowledge when it comes to interior design. To me, it seems that many people who I follow decorate and redecorate at almost a lightning-like speed. It seems to all come together so quickly and I am left feeling inspired, but also desperately wishing that my own pace could follow suite.



After asking a few accounts about how long it took them to get to where they are, I found that I was completely mistaken. Most replied with "years!" and I was reminded that it's never actually completed as quickly as it may appear from the outside looking in. I then found myself wondering if that's what people think about the things I share - that this all happened essentially overnight or that I somehow quickly decorated when in fact, it's been quite the opposite. So I wanted to share some of the biggest transformations that my apartment has overcome throughout the three years we have now lived here. Since there have been quite a few, I decided to first share the bedroom today and to share the rest later on throughout the month.



The Bedroom





The very first iteration - we used what we had and even at the time I was not over the moon about this set up. In fact, I really hated it, but had to put up with it for a while. I wanted better curtains and a more restful space overall, but not only had to find the right pieces but also had to work within the confines of my budget.



I really loved yellow and gray and updated the space accordingly. The duvet cover really helped to make the space more soft and restful overall, and I think it was one of the best purchases I've made for the bedroom when it comes to how impactful the colour change really was.



We grew a bit sick of the yellow and changed things up a bit yet again, this time with just a touch of the colour. I still wanted to update the curtains and really wanted a tufted headboard to replace the old and rather beat up one that we had. Unfortunately, these headboards were incredibly expensive and every D.I.Y. I looked into for tufted headboards seemed much too complicated.



Then I finally found one on sale and made the purchase. It inspired some new styling overall and it completely changed the look of the room. Longer curtains were finally added as well.



I finally painted the dresser as well, keeping with the grey colour palette and bringing about more of a soft feel to the overall space.



An update to the living room brought the old TV and shelf into the bedroom. The cube shelf was also painted the same grey to keep things consistent and harmonious.



Which brings us to the most recent version of the space.



It certainly has come a long way - but all of this took quite some time. Time is necessary, I think, for you to find just what you're looking for. It's something I need to remind myself of often as I am not the most patient person in the world. Still, I am so proud of all the work I've been able to tackle in this small space all while working within a pretty limited budget.



Thanks for following along my bedroom decorating journey today. Hopefully this inspired you, but also made you realise that everything takes time even if it may not seem so - especially when it comes to decorating! Have a wonderful Wednesday!



-Rachel



The following article Apartment Transformations Bedroom Find more on: https://adetailedpalette.com/







via A Detailed Palette - Feed https://www.adetailedpalette.com/apartment-transformations-bedroom/